Here’s a post by the Anchoress that seems to dovetail nicely with something an acquaintance of mine wrote over at Gagdad Bob’s; I have J.’s permission to republish it in its entirety….

****

… Bob: It’s probably late enough that no one will read this, but I was reminded today of Jung’s proposition that there are no meaningless coincidences.

I went – though I wasn’t on the schedule and in fact haven’t been to church in over two years – to Perpetual Adoration; any Catholic will likely know what that is. They had a paper in back for people to write the petitions for which they were praying; I wrote “Help for all those who are losing faith” and sat down in the back for thirty minutes.

And then when I left, I felt a strange urge to turn to the local jazz station – and THIS came on.

The best is yet to come and babe, won’t it be fine?
The best is yet to come, come the day you’re mine

Come the day you’re mine
I’m gonna teach you to fly
We’ve only tasted the wine
We’re gonna drain the cup dry

Wait till your charms are right for these arms to surround
You think you’ve flown before, but babe, you ain’t left the ground

Wait till you’re locked in my embrace
Wait till I draw you near
Wait till you see that sunshine place
There ain’t nothing like it here

The best is yet to come and babe, won’t it be fine?
The best is yet to come, come the day you’re mine
Come the day you’re mine

I never heard myself making this particular sound before, but halfway through the song I started crying and laughing – hysterically – at the same time.

I don’t usually give any credence to coincidences, but… I can’t help but think He’s trying to tell me something.

